Make /Tools Your Home | Link to us

Today's posts | Posts since last visit | Most Active Topics

All Forums Register Login Search Subscriptions My Profile Inbox
Tool Warehouse FAQs Resources Help Member List Address Book Logout

ls: command not found

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [SFU / Interix / SUA Technology] >> SFU / Interix - Getting Started >> ls: command not found Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
ls: command not found - May 3, '03, 5:49:03 PM   
xolotl

I am new to Interix, so apologies if this is dumb
but I just unstalled bash from the tools warehouse,
I created a shortcut for it by copying the ksh one
and adjusting the executable name + path and now
for all non built-in commands, e.g., ls, I get " ls:
command not found" , even though /dev/fs/C/SFU/common
is in PATH. What gives?

Thanks in advance,

-- O.L.
Post #: 1
RE: ls: command not found - May 3, '03, 11:15:22 PM   
markfunk

1. The shortcut for ksh (as shipped) uses the -l command line argument. This is necessary so that you get a " login" shell which will read the /etc/profile file. It is the /etc/profile file that sets up your environment variables properly for the Interix/Unix environ that you want.
Bash does not support " -l" . It uses " --login" instead.

2. Your environment is not set properly without --login. Without --login you just get environment variables inherited from the Windows global environment variables. These aren' t sufficient to get you fully into a UNIX environ. To enter into the UNIX environ that Interix provides, you need to do what /etc/profile does.

3. /dev/fs/C/SFU/common is the directory one uses if one is a Window' s user - not a UNIX user. Take a look at the files in this directory. They all end in " .exe" . It contains Windows binaries and specially modified Interix binaries that know how to deal with Window' s pathname syntax.