Make /Tools Your Home | Link to us

Today's posts | Posts since last visit | Most Active Topics

All Forums Register Login Search Subscriptions My Profile Inbox
Tool Warehouse FAQs Resources Help Member List Address Book Logout

compile pthreads with Visual Studio

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [SFU / Interix / SUA Technology] >> Interix Advanced Forum >> compile pthreads with Visual Studio Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
compile pthreads with Visual Studio - Jun. 15, '06, 2:51:36 PM   
wgrigg

All,

Pardon if there is a better forum for this question, but I am somewhat new to the Windows/UNIX world. Here goes ... we have a project that requires rehosting a bunch of C code to Linux on an embedded platform. We are starting out with coLinux on Windows as the development environment. We would like to be able to create a Visual Studio project and at least compile (and even execute) C modules that are pretty much vanilla C except for their interface to the Linux OS. This interface is pretty much calls using pthreads, semaphores and probably messaging.

When I first ran into Windows Services for UNIX 3.5 (today) I mistakenly thought that it supplied that capability. In short I thought that there were some header files (pthread.h, ...) and perhaps a DLL or two that enabled me to just execute as myProg.exe under Windows. Apparently I was wrong... Anyway here are some questions:

1. Any opinions out there about using SFU versus coLinux?
2. Is there a way to build the same set of .c and .h files under coLinux, Interix and Visual Studio?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,

Bill
Post #: 1
RE: compile pthreads with Visual Studio - Jun. 16, '06, 3:45:14 AM   
Rodney

A soon as you make a API call outside of the C standard you can't call it vanilla.
Pthreads and semaphores show that the code has complexity wayyy beyond vanilla.