Make /Tools Your Home | Link to us

Today's posts | Posts since last visit | Most Active Topics

All Forums Register Login Search Subscriptions My Profile Inbox
Tool Warehouse FAQs Resources Help Member List Address Book Logout

Mixed mode?

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [SFU / Interix / SUA Technology] >> Windows Server 2003 R2 SUA >> Mixed mode? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Mixed mode? - Jul. 22, '06, 5:10:03 AM   
bdynin

I'm new to Interix.
I've a few basic questions.
1. Can I call 'mmap' (for example) from an EXE that also calls WIN32 functions?
2. If answer to (1) is yes, the next question: how to build such EXE? Should I use .H and .LIB files from Interix SDK?
3. If the above EXE is WIN32 console application project (C/C++) in VS2005, should I specify any additional options for the project?

Thanks a lot,
Boris
Post #: 1
RE: Mixed mode? - Jul. 23, '06, 1:03:02 AM   
Rodney

> I'm new to Interix.

Welcome

> 1. Can I call 'mmap' (for example) from an EXE that also calls WIN32 functions?

Time to backup a bit. The use of mixed mode is being misunderstood.
The intent of mixed mode is to allow an Interix (Unix) process to gain access to
Win32 API's. Not the other way around. That the resulting binary is marked as "Win32"
rather than as "Interix": this is to make the use of Win32 API from the process easier.
So the subsystem that nominally has authority over the process is CSRSS (Win32).
But the special way the headers are used and the libraries linked, for all intents
and purposes, is an Interix methodology.

So you look at it as "here's my Unix/Interix program, which Win32 API's must I use".

With this contextual change your questions get de-railed a bit.
The mmap() API can continue to be used in a mixed mode application.
But there's a twist specific to mmap() that requires no use of mixed mode. And this